Home » Belgian GP, Headline, Qualifying

Stats from Spa Qualifying

By saltire | 1 Sep 2012 | No Comment | 3,871 views

Jenson Button comfortably claimed his first pole for McLaren as he seeks to put his season back on track in Belgium. His time of 1 minute 47.573 seconds was comfortably the quickest time of the weekend. Kamui Kobayashi joins him on the front row, the first time the Sauber driver has qualified so high. Pastor Maldonado was the only other driver to break the 1 minute 48 second mark but a 3-place grid penalty for blocking earlier in the session sees him slip back to sixth on the grid.
Vodafone McLaren Mercedes
Qualifying Facts

  • Jenson Button became the 7th different pole sitter of 2012 whilst claiming his 8th career pole and first for McLaren. He was last on pole at the 2009 Monaco Grand Prix.
  • Pastor Maldonado’s grid drop is his sixth penalty of the season (excluding speeding fines and grid drops for replacement gearboxes)
  • Fernando Alonso and Pedro de la Rosa are the only drivers to have out-qualified their team mates at each event this year
  • Kamui Kobayashi’s 2nd place grid slot is the highest of his F1 career
  • All 24 drivers have a new engine at this event

Q3 Summary
Qualifying Lap Times

1. Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:47.573
2. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari     1:47.871
3. Maldonado³ Williams-Renault 1:47.893
4. Raikkonen     Lotus-Renault 1:48.205
5. Perez Sauber-Ferrari     1:48.219
6. Alonso Ferrari 1:48.313
7. Webber¹ Red Bull-Renault 1:48.392
8. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:48.394
9. Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1:48.538
10. di Resta Force India-Mercedes    1:48.890
Q2 cut-off time: 1:48.780
11. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:48.792
12. Hulkenberg     Force India-Mercedes 1:48.855
13. Schumacher Mercedes 1:49.081
14. Massa Ferrari 1:49.147
15. Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:49.354
16. Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:49.543
17. Senna Williams-Renault 1:50.088
Q1 cut-off time: 1:50.126
18. Rosberg² Mercedes 1:50.181
19. Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1:51.739
20. Petrov Caterham-Renault 1:51.967
21. Glock Marussia-Cosworth 1:52.336
22. de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 1:53.030
23. Pic Marussia-Cosworth 1:53.493
24. Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1:54.989

107% time: 1:56.622

¹ Webber takes a 5-place grid penalty for a new gearbox and will start the race in 12th position.
² Rosberg takes a 5-place grid penalty for a new gearbox and will start the race in 23rd position.
³ Maldonado takes a 3-place grid penalty for impeding Car 12 during Q1, he will start in 6th position.

Best Sector Times
What are your predictions for the race? Can Kamui Kobayashi achieve his first F1 podium? Should Kimi Raikkonen have received a penalty for cutting the chicane? Who was lucky and who was unlucky today? Let us know your thoughts in the comments…

Photo: Vodafone McLaren Mercedes

Tagged: ,
Bookmark and Share

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.